Job Smack: 10,000 Jobs and Counting

Being the author, owner and creative genius behind ‘10,000 Jobs and Counting’ I’ve obviously had a few too many (jobs that is, you don’t even know me yet don’t judge) and feel that I have become some what of an authority on the subject of getting jobs in general. That being said even as a bagger at the local grocery store when I was 14 I had an in. And so the story goes, it’s not what you know it’s who you know or who you’re sleeping with. At 14 I hadn’t started sleeping with anyone to get to the top and at my age now I’ve stopped sleeping around and have ended up somewhere in the middle. Meaning I am far from the top!

I’ve always been ambitious and I’ve worked multiple jobs simultaneously over the years to reach one goal: make enough money to support myself and my family. Here’s the rub, my background consists of no college education, little to no experience in anything in particular and a general hate and disdain for really stupid people in corporate positions who try to tell me what to do. What I do have, personality, wit, charm and a pretty face. Put that on a resume and see what sticks, right! Good luck with that.

Honestly, I have been lucky. A good friend of mine says “you always land on your feet”. Maybe that’s why we have feet. Maybe it’s karma – there is certainly no silver spoon in my mouth so call it whatever you want. I’ve been down and out and riding high at times. Here is just a sampling of some of the jobs I’ve had over the years. Stick around and I’ll start recapping my war torn career stories. Based on the list you can bet there’s some funny shit to I’ll be writing about. In no particular order:

  1. Cashier
  2. Waitress
  3. Import / Export Clerk – I’ll never understand U.S. customs
  4. Dispatcher (for a carpet distribution warehouse, I was one of 3 females among many, many men – good times!)
  5. Claims Examiner – manual data entry for health insurance
  6. I worked at Macy’s in their corporate office when I was like 18, I’m still not sure what I did there
  7. Retail Assistant Store Manager
  8. Receptionist
  9. Secretary
  10. Executive Secretary
  11. Administrative Assistant (because the last 3 are all very different they have to be listed individually)
  12. Help Desk Manager – technology
  13. Training Coordinator
  14. Home Alarm Salesgirl
  15. Christmas Around the World Consultant
  16. Lingerie Model
  17. Fat Counselor
  18. Gym Manager – kids gymnastics
  19. Trainer – computers and software
  20. Facilitator
  21. Release Manager – software
  22. Project Manager – technology
  23. Program Manager – technology
  24. Business Office Manager
  25. Interior Designer
About 10000jobsandcounting

I have lived 10,000 lives based on my career choices over the years and I have some very funny and unique experiences that I am ready to share with the world. As a self proclaimed writer, I'm pretty good at it, trust me on that one - I've decided to blog to tell my stories. They're interesting and fun and perhaps someone will know someone who can introduce me to someone who can help me get to the next level. Maybe that someone is you? Read, enjoy, like, share - blog it baby!! You can also email 10000jobsandcounting@gmail.com or follow me on twitter denise_pavona.
This entry was posted in Job Smack: 10,000 Jobs and Counting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

